RSS

Bleu Cheese Bacon Burgers: Best Ever!

09 Aug

Summer feels like it is winding down and I haven’t grilled nearly enough burgers! We can grill year-round in the PNW, of course, but it’s nice to be able to do it without wearing a headlamp during our long summer days.

We love bleu cheese burgers, so I have been working on the right combination of ingredients with the thought of posting it to this blog – mission accomplished! I even remembered to take pictures! I like to use the lowest fat content ground beef available because I am adding more fat to the mixture in the guise of cheese and bacon. I also get the thickest cut of bacon and dig through all the packages looking for the best fat<meat ratio. I love baking the bacon on a rack because the mess is so much less than frying and the fat drips away to the pan underneath. For this recipe, you only need two slices of cooked bacon, so it might be easier to immediately hide two slices after cooking up a package to save them for your future burgers. I use food scissors to cut the bacon up into “bits” and, no, “Bac-os Bits®” are NOT an acceptable substitute! Because the cheese tends to be salty (not to mention the bacon), I do not add salt.

This recipe makes 4 quarter-pound burgers.

RawBurgers

  • 1 lb. 4% fat ground beef
  • 2 slices cooked bacon, cut into “bits”
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/4-1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/3-1/2 cup bleu cheese crumbles
  • pepper to taste

Combine all the ingredients in a largish mixing bowl – I use my hands encased in plastic gloves to mix everything up. Two reasons: 1) Ew! Raw hamburger under my fingernails? No thanks! and 2) Squishing everything together by hand mixes it much more thoroughly than with a rubber spatula or spoon.

After the ingredients are thoroughly combined, form 4 patties. Grill as desired until done. Every grill is different, so I won’t attempt to instruct you in how to work your own grill!

BurgerDoesn’t this look delish? Maybe I should take up a second career as a food photographer….

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 9, 2013 in Recipe

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
