RSS

Bleu Cheese Burgers

30 Oct

Here they are before grilling. After grilling, they were grabbed and eaten so no pictures!

In the Pacific Northwest, with our propane grill on a covered porch, we can and do grill year ’round. One of the family favorites is my Bleu Cheese Burgers. I like my burgers lean, but extra lean ground beef with only 3-4% fat can get you a pretty dry burger, so I add a different kind of fat -bleu cheese – to the mixture and it is not only moist, but very flavorful.

To 1 1/3 lb. extra lean ground beef, I add 1 tbl. Worcestershire sauce, 1/3 c dried onion, ground pepper, 1/2 tsp dried thyme and 1/3-1/2 c crumbled bleu cheese (in the refrigerated deli section at the grocery store). I don’t add salt as the cheese adds some saltiness and it is easy to over-do. Mix the ingredients well and divide into 4 equal portions to make 4 1/3 pound burgers. I use the large Tupperware hamburger press so they are pretty uniform (and I don’t get raw ground beef under my finger nails – ew!) We grilled these to a “medium well” and served them on potato buns with an assortment of condiments – including spinach for crunch and the veggie factor.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2011 in Recipe

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
