RSS

I Love Beta-Carotene Season: Stuffed Delicata Squash

28 Oct

Delicata Squash - the skin is edible, believe it or not!

While shopping at a farmers’ market in my daughter’s new hometown, we came across a couple of bushels of some beautiful, striped squashes and were about 6-8 inches long. I’d never seen this type before -or at least hadn’t really noticed them – so we asked about them and decided to get a few to try. (in retrospect, I wish I had bought a lot more!) Their size just screamed “stuffing!” so that is the way I decided to go.

[ In a bizarre coincidence, a local food blogger was on our NPR station talking about Delicata squash the other morning and she said that the skin is edible and the flesh is very sweet. She cuts them into rings and roasts them, brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with salt & pepper on baking sheet. Simple! ]

Cooked pork sausage, sourdough bread, herbs & spices

This recipe used two Delicata Squash, making 4 servings. First I made the stuffing – about 4 c. cubed sourdough bread, 6-8 oz. ground pork sausage (cooked & crumbled), 1 tsp sage, 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/2 c vegetable broth, 1-2 tbl dried onion flakes. I cooked the sausage and threw everything else into the pot without draining – I had used a low fat version of Jimmy Dean sausage and it had surprisingly little fat. You could use Stove-Top stuffing, but this really did not take all that much time and definitely had less sodium!

I washed the squash and cut it in half length-wise and then scooped out the seeds and goop. There wasn’t a lot and it wasn’t really goopy like some squashes. In order for a couple of them to lie on the baking sheet without rolling, I shaved a few slices off the back to

Ready to pop in the oven!

give it a flatter surface. I didn’t oil my baking sheet because I use the silicone baking mats – I’ve mentioned these before! Have you bought some yet? What are you waiting for?!?! Go on – I’ll wait…

I brushed oil on the edges of the squash and divided my prepared stuffing between the 4 halves. After grinding some sea salt, fresh pepper and a little cinnamon over them, I dotted the stuffing with butter (about 2 tbl between the 4) and baked them for 45-50 minutes at 375 degrees. At about the halfway mark, I covered them with foil to keep the stuffing from getting too crunchy. Poke them with a fork to make sure they have the right amount of tenderness – your fork should slide easily into the flesh.

[ Another bizarre coincidence: my daughter cooked her squashes the same night with a similar stuffing, only she added dried cranberries and goat cheese – yum! ]

Delicata? Delicious!

The squash was sweet, but not overly so and the sausage in the stuffing gave the whole dish a nice kick. We both ate the skin – which had no discernible taste and did not detract from the dish in any way – although I skipped eating the very end bits (blossom & stem). Both my husband and I found that one half squash was plenty to fill us up so now we have some “delicata” leftovers! I’ll definitely make this again and – if I could find some smaller ones – it would make a lovely side dish for a holiday meal or to a dress-up leftover turkey dinner.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 28, 2011 in Information, Recipe

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
