RSS

How Do You Cook Corn on the Cob?

11 Jul

Yum! Fresh Sweet corn! One of the best flavors of summer!

Summer is here and one of the best things about this season is readily available fresh produce! Berries, peaches (soon, I hope!), green beans, peas, summer squash and corn on the cob – to name a few. Since I had some corn over the weekend, I thought I’d ask around to see what other people do with their sweet corn.

Do you boil or grill? Do you nuke it? Eat it raw?

How do you serve it? Do you use basics – butter, salt, pepper? Or do you experiment with other toppings? Do you use those little corn holder thingies or tough it out? Do you have those little corn shaped plates?

My way to cook sweet corn is simple. I husk the corn, removing the silks and breaking off any natural “handles” so it will fit into my pot. I put them in a pot of water, cover and bring to a boil. And then I turn off the heat and let stand in the hot water for at least 10 minutes to heat through. That’s it! We have those cute little plates – got them for a wedding gift, back in the day – but don’t always use them. I don’t use the holders – I think my fingertips are made of asbestos or something! We tend to go with straight butter (low-fat margarine, really) and salt and pepper. Basic, classic summer sweet corn!

Your turn! Tell me how you cook and eat your sweet corn…I’ll be waiting right here!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 11, 2011 in Asking for Feedback, Information, Recipe

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “How Do You Cook Corn on the Cob?

  1. Laura Cramer

    July 11, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    Try mayo plain or with chili powder or flavored up – chipotle tabasco gives it a kick and its yummy! Added bonus mayo doesn’t drip off the corn like butter so it enriches every mouthful. Don’t knock it until you’ve tried. I’m converted!

     

Leave a Reply

 
