RSS

Using Leftover Chicken: Mediterranean Pasta

04 Apr

Last time, I described how to roast a chicken and promised a good recipe for leftovers – this is it! This recipe has a lot going for it – it’s quick (about half an hour), it’s filling (hello? pasta!), and it uses leftover chicken (so you don’t end up with science experiments in the fridge!) Oh yeah – and there’s bacon in it – everything’s better with bacon! I think there will be a future blog post on bacon – so reviled and so delicious!

Note the fun pasta shape!

Mediterranean Pasta (click for printable pdf) The original recipe called for linguine – which is not my favorite, to tell you the truth. I chose a fun-looking pasta that looks like a piggy tail. I can’t recall the name of it, but it is one of the Culinary Circle-brand dry pastas at Albertsons. You can see what it looks like in the photo.

(UPDATE: I checked on the name of the pasta shape and it is called, “Trottole.”)

I’m not big on measuring for this type of dish (baking is a different story!), so there is probably more chicken than is called for in the recipe. The original recipe also called for a smaller-sized can of artichoke hearts, but what kind of fun is that? Also – more feta is not a garnish – it’s a must! I probably also ground some fresh pepper into it – I do that automatically. I don’t use a lot of salt, either – canned products have tons of sodium so I may not add any or just a turn or two from my sea salt grinder. The bacon is not an overpowering flavor in the dish – just a hint of smokiness! And the rosemary – well, I told you about my rosemary bush in the roasted chicken post! I dried my own rosemary in the microwave between 2 sheets of white paper towels and I’m pretty sure I put in more than was called for! (see Fun Facts page – #6)

This is one of those recipes that is nicely flexible and can be adjusted to individual family tastes. Now that I’m thinking about it, I probably slivered 1/4 red onion into the pan with the tomatoes… Want garlic? Sure! Want more bacon? Why not! Half of the family likes olives – the other doesn’t? Have a bowl of them on the side!  Hate artichoke hearts? What’s wrong with you???!!?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2011 in Recipe

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
