RSS

Irish Soda Bread

17 Mar

Whew! I thought it was lost! I dug through my less-than-perfect recipe file (the bottom drawer in my kitchen…) in a panic until I found our favorite Irish Soda Bread recipe. I got this originally from Sunset magazine about a zillion years ago, or at least 20… As I read through the recipe, I doubt it is authentic – there is a ton of butter in it! – but who cares? It is very tasty and gets rave reviews!

Note: Ingredients are bold for your convenience. You’re welcome!

You will need: 3 c. flour, 3 tbl. sugar, 1 tsp. baking soda, 3/4 tsp. salt (combine in large bowl). Next, cut in 9 (yes, that’s nine) tbl. butter until it is a fine mealy texture. Here, the original recipe adds in caraway seeds (1 tbl) and golden raisins (1/2 c), but I never have those on hand and have never added them. Next, add 1 c buttermilk and stir until evenly moistened. Gather the dough and knead on floured surface 16 times. Need to know kneading? Look here (Fun Fact #5). Pat the dough into a ball and flatten to 1 inch thick round. Place on greased baking sheet – or if you have a silicone baking mat for your baking sheet, use that. Slash an “X” about 1/4″ deep with a sharp knife on the top of the round. Brush with 1 1/2 tbl buttermilk. Bake at 375 degrees for 30-35 minutes.

We let it cool a bit then slice it into wedges, drizzled with honey. It really doesn’t need more butter on it – especially if you are eating it with a Corned Beef dinner, but if you promise to eat oatmeal for the next month, you can probably get away with it.

Generic Picture of Irish Soda Bread

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 17, 2011 in Recipe

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Irish Soda Bread

  1. Andrea

    March 22, 2011 at 3:47 am

    I have made your recipe with caraway seeds. Definitely super tasty! I usually make one plain and one with the caraway so that my guests can pick and choose. I loves them both 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
